M-Net walked away with top honours at the 2015 South African Film and Television Awards (SAFTAs), held last night at Gallagher Estate in Midrand, Johannesburg. In total, M-Net’s productions scooped 17 awards at the leading industry awards event, which celebrates talent and production quality nationally.

The SAFTAs are the country’s most prestigious and highly sought-after television and film awards and reflect the very best in the South African TV and film industry, with peer nominations further confirming the credibility of the occasion. In its 9th year, and with 438 entries received in 2015, the SAFTAs are by far the industry’s most illustrious awards ceremony.

“The many nominations M-Net received this year, across such a wide variety of genres demonstrates our ability to provide diverse, high quality content that appeals to all our local audiences. Last night’s performance was again testament to M-Net’s priority of creating and funding content that people connect to, appreciate, and most importantly, identify with. M-Net aims to continue investing in, developing, and nurturing the local film and television industry by commissioning and backing more of these award-winning productions in years to come,” said M-Net’s Corporate Affairs Director, Kershnee Govender.

A favourite among M-Net viewers, Mzansi Magic’s popular drama series, Isibaya walked off with the majority of M-Net’s prizes with 6 awards.

M-Net received awards in the following categories:

Best Achievement in Scriptwriting -TV Comedy – Check coast
Meren Reddy
Rethabile Ramaphakela
Katleho Ramaphakela
Salah Sabiti
Tumi Osei-Tutu
Mpho Osei- Tutu

Best Achievement in Make-Up and Hairstyling – TV Drama – Donkerland

Nicola Roodt

Best Achievement in Costume Design – TV Drama – Donkerland

Sune` Jansen

Best International Format Show – Clash of the Choirs SA

Endemol South Africa

Best Achievement in Make-Up and Hair Styling – TV Soap


Elzette Van der Schyff

Best Achievement in Costume Design – TV Soap – Isibaya

Rochelle Selling

Best Achievement in Art / Design Production – TV Soap – Isibaya

Dylan Lloyd

Best Achievement in Editing – TV Soap – Isibaya

Sibongeleni Mabuyakhulu
Jeremy Briers

Best Achievement in Cinematography – TV Soap – Isibaya

Zeno Petersen

Best Achievement in Scriptwriting – TV Soap – Isibaya

Catherine Stewart
Libby Dougherty
Craig Higginson
Jacob Ntshangase
Gillian Breslin
Desiree Maarkgraaff

Best Current Affairs / Actuality Programme – Safe Haven

Combined Artists

Best Supporting Actor -TV Drama

Fezile Mpela as “Zwide” in Donkerland

Best Supporting Actress -TV drama

Brenda Ngxoli as “Gladys” in Rockville

Best Achievement in Directing – TV Soap – Isibaya

Adze Ugah
John Berker
Denny Miller
Alex Yazbek
Phiwe Mkhanzi
Tebogo Malope

Best TV Soap – Isibaya

The Bomb Shelter

Best Achievement in Make-up and Hairstyling in an Existing Film – Faan se Trein

Theola Booyens

Best Achievement in Art/Production Design in an Existing Film – Faan se Trein

Waldemar Coetsee




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *